Resistance Around The Table

This speaks to my Polish and Irish roots. I have no idea what my ancestors who stayed in the homelands did or felt during any of the world wars, but my soul says they resisted and fought back with everything they had, even if it was only the strength of their hearts. And so will I.

GODS & RADICALS

By Sabina Magliocco

My dining room table was purchased in Paris at the end of the 1800s when my great-grandfather Giulio de Castro married my great-grandmother, Marguerite Weil. It is a solid, beautifully-crafted Second Empire-style piece made of European walnut.  With both leaves attached, it can seat twelve. It is the kind of piece an upper-middle-class family would have wanted at the turn of the 20th century to demonstrate its prosperity and hospitality to guests and family members alike. It went to Port Said, Egypt, where my great-grandparents lived in a large European colonial community, including many Jewish families who had businesses on the Suez Canal.  In 1939, when WWII broke out and the family had to repatriate because Egypt was a British protectorate and Italy had allied with the Axis, it went back with them to Italy, to a house in Rome on Via Aldega. During the…

View original post 1,067 more words

Leave a Reply

